The United Irishmen, a revolutionary republican organization inspired by Wolfe Tone, saw Irish Protestants join with the Catholic majority to achieve Irish independence and establish a republic.

While the republic’s first government was based on a self-governed assembly known as the Arengo, the current system in San Marino has been in place since the Statutes of 1600.

On the 20th June 1789 at Versailles in France, the National Assembly swore the Tennis Court Oath in which they vowed not to separate until a written constitution had been established for the country.